Ocean City Today

Church to seek reelection as County Commissioner

By Brian Gilliland | Feb 01, 2018
Bud Church

(Feb. 2, 2018) Once Del. Mary Beth Carozza declared her intention to run for the state senate seat occupied by Jim Mathias, all eyes in political circles switched to four-term Republican County Commissioner Bud Church to see if he intended to run for the delegate’s seat.

Church put that speculation to rest on Monday by announcing he would seek another term as county commissioner, and not pursue the seat in Annapolis.

“After much serious deliberation, and a few sleepless nights, [my wife] Ally and I are excited to announce that I will be running for reelection to my Worcester County Commissioners seat,” Church said in a statement.

“I believe I can continue my work in effecting change with my educated responses to the needs of Worcester County, my honest input and continuing to care for my district best by staying here at home in District 3.”

He also said he had been leaning toward running for the state office until this past weekend, when he attended a local gathering and was urged by supporters to seek another four years in Snow Hill.

He characterized his contemplation of choosing between the House and the county as one of “the most time-consuming, heart-breaking, up-and-down experiences of my life.”

Church was first elected to the commissioners in 2002. In 2006 he faced Kathy Phillips, ran unopposed in 2010 and in 2014 he defeated Michael Maykrantz. In 2018 Church enters the fray behind two others: Democrat Zach Tyndall and Republican Gary Millhoff.

Church is a real estate broker, and owns a namesake Coldwell Banker brokerage in Ocean City. He served as the president of the Maryland Association of Relators and was named Realtor of the Year. In 2010 he was awarded a Realtors Lifetime Achievement Award.

Prior to becoming a commissioner in 2002, Church spent 10 years on the Board of Education, serving as president for eight years. He was elected vice president of the county commissioners in 2009, and served as Commissioner President from 2010 to 2014.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.